History Of UEFA European Football Championship

First performed in 1960 underneath the identify of UEFA European Nations Cup, the thought of this well-liked ข่าว ฟุตบอลยุโรป league was first steered by Henri Delaunay in 1927 who was a member of French Soccer Federation. Lastly in 1960, his dream become actuality and the event was held in France. In his honor, the event trophy was named as Henri Deluanay Trophy. 17 groups participated out of which three groups didn’t played- West Germany, England and Italy. Among the many 14 remaining groups, USSR made its manner into the ultimate and gained the primary event trophy by outsmarting Yugoslavia by 2-1.

After that, the identify of this event was modified to European Soccer Championship in 1968 after which since 1992, this event grew to become well-liked as Euro. Held as soon as in each 4 years; statistical stories present that that is the third hottest sports activities event on this planet after Olympic Video games and World Cup. Up to now, 13 tournaments had been performed and this Euro 2012 is the 14th session. Germany is essentially the most profitable group on this event who had been within the ultimate six occasions and gained championship title thrice.

In 1964, Spain was the host of the event with 29 groups taking part within the event. The host succeeded in bagging the championship title by defeating the final time champion USSR by 2-1.

In 1968, the event identify was reframed however the format remained similar with two new groups. Held in Italy, the championship title additionally went to the host nation once they defeated Yugoslavia in a replay match by 2-Zero. Essentially the most notable incident in that 12 months was a coin toss to resolve a semi-final match. This coin toss was the primary and the one time incident in Euro historical past.

Belgium was the host in 1972 when West Germany (now Germany) gained the ultimate beating Soviet Union by Three-Zero.

1976 event was held in Yugoslavia and that was the ultimate 12 months to place an finish for 2 things- host group needed to be within the ultimate and 4 groups qualifying within the ultimate. That 12 months can be notable for the newly launched penalty shootout. Czechoslovakia gained the ultimate.

The subsequent event in 1980 was organized in a brand new format in Italy. The idea of group got here up and eight groups participated with winners of every group entering into the play-offs after which to the ultimate. West Germany gained as soon as once more and this was their second championship title.

In 1984, the idea of semi-final additionally emerged which gave completely a brand new format to this event. France gained the event by smashing Spain in 2-Zero. Michel Platini was then the Captain of France who was a formidable participant of the event. He scored 9 objectives in 5 matches.

The 2 occasions champion, West Germany hosted the 1988 event the place Netherlands defeated the host to win the championship title. This 12 months continues to be thought-about as an excellent 12 months in soccer historical past as a result of Marco van Basten made a spectacular objective over the goalkeeper straight from the correct wing.

Then in Sweden in 1992 when European Soccer Championship grew to become Euro 1992 for the primary time! Denmark gained the league by defeating unified Germany by 2-Zero. Yugoslavia was not allowed to take part within the event that 12 months as they have been in a state of warfare.

16 groups participated in UEFA Euro 1996which was organized in England. Germany ousted newly-formed state Czech Republic by 2-1 and bagged one other championship trophy for the third time. However for unified Germany, this was the primary time.

Belgium and Netherlands have been the host for Euro 2000 when France was the emperor of soccer. As anticipated by your entire world, France as soon as extra succeeded in retaining their place as champion once they defeated Italy by 2-1.

The championship trophy of UEFA Euro 2004, held in Portugal, was gained by Greece who defeated the host group by 1-Zero within the ultimate.

Switzerland and Austria, once more two nations hosted UEFA Euro 2008 the place Spain defeated Germany by 1-Zero within the ultimate to grow to be the champion.

Lastly 2012! This 12 months Ukraine and Poland will host the event the place 16 groups are taking part from 4 teams, every group having 4 groups. Czech Republic, Greece, Poland and Russia are from Group A, Denmark, Germany, Portugal and Holland are from Group B, Croatia, Spain, Italy and Eire are from Group C and England, France, Sweden and Ukraine are from Group D. This thrilling event will begin on June eight, 2012 and can proceed until July 1, 2012.


Leave a Comment